17 Years Gone

My oldest son passed away on January 21, 2001. At times it’s difficult for me to wrap my mind around the thought that it has been 17 years. Somedays it feels as it was yesterday and at other times another life.

No matter when the person you love passes away, one thing is true the pain never goes away completely. It becomes a different pain and you learn to live with it.

In the beginning feeling lost, guilty and confused every moment of the day consumed me. I fought those feelings for the first six months after his death. But then I met a woman that could relate. She too lost a child. I wasn’t going crazy. My feelings were normal. It was grief.

What was Caleb like? He was shy, blonde hair and had his Dads bright blue eyes. He loved his family and friends but most of all his church. Playing the Boom,Booms (the drums.) He was brave. He had a strength that I use to tell myself, if Caleb could go through what he went through and never complain, then I can too.

Chemotherapy treatment at the hospital.

Everyone grieves differently there is no right or wrong way. There have been stages of grief I went through and thought I had conquered only to realize a year later I am back at that point. I learned to embrace my grief and not shy about my emotions.

Do you believe in Angels?

Last week a family member had a dream about Caleb and x-husbands brother, Matt Blount. Matt was tragically killed in a car accident a year and a half after Caleb passed away. At the age of 21.

Back to the dream……….

In the dream Caleb and Matt were together fighting for my family. So whether you believe in Angels or even if something like this could be true. It doesn’t matter it warmed my soul. It gave me hope. To be honest, my family has been to hell and back. But I know God is fighting.

In one of my earlier post I talked about how I went to the cemetery and I talked to Caleb at the gravesite. I knew he wasn’t there physically but it didn’t matter to me. He will always be in my heart.

So today I have a hope I will see my son again someday!

NIV I Thessalonians 4:17-18

17 After that, we who are still alive and are left will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. 18 Therefore encourage one another with these words.

Do you have someone you want to see again? This verse has given me so much hope!

Sincerely,

Tracy

Categories Loss, Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “17 Years Gone

  1. Thank you for sharing this beautiful post ❤ God Bless You
    Tamara

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Apostolic Praise School of Music

The Fastest, Easiest & Funnest Way to Learn Pentecostal Piano and Gospel Keyboard​!

"Be Still"

Child loss , Wounds, Grief,Warrior

Journey to life

Ramblings along my journey, from suicidality, to, I hope, life

Something to Stu Over

Thoughts on life, love, marriage and yes...sex

Inmate Blogger

Thousands of Prison Inmates Blog about their Lives Inside

Shirley Sorbello

Inspirational Writer of Fiction and Non-Fiction

Embracing Creativity - BBYCGN: Yancosky

Spiritual writings, messages, creative expression, and arts to broaden community awareness and insight

Beauty from ashes

writer, poet, survivor, fighter , lover of words

Writer's Choice

Blog filled with the Breathings of my Heart

Flower Pentecostal Heritage Center

Pentecostal History. Theology. News.

Tears in a Bottle

A safe haven for wounded hearts.

All the Things Joni

Grief | Life | Loss | Love - All the Things

A Gracious Graffiti

The Scrawl on the Walls of an Ever-Deepening Journey

Karina's Thought

Living by Faith

Keeping My Promise, Justin

The LORD gave, and the LORD has taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD.

Anxiety Erica

Just a work in progress writing about her journey with anxiety.

Loss Mama

Learning to Live Again, One Breath at a Time

WRITE OUTSIDE

FOR THE LOVE OF WRITING AND THIRST FOR LIVING

The Godly Chic Diaries

BY GRACE THROUGH FAITH

Recovery Unsensored

Alone we don't stand a chance, but together, we can change the world

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close